UBS RAMPS IBIT CALLS 24-FOLD — THE SHARE COUNT IS STILL BELOW DECEMBER
UBS — over $7 trillion under management — reported call options representing 1.95 million underlying IBIT shares as of June 30, up from 80,000 three months earlier. That is the 24-fold number in every headline. In the same filing, the outright IBIT position rose 12 percent to 407,890 shares, worth roughly $13.6 million, and remains below the 548,614 shares UBS held at the end of 2025.
Per CoinDesk coverage of the Aug 13 Form 13F, positions are reported as of June 30. Put option exposure moved the other way — 303,300 underlying shares at the end of March down to 143,300, a decline of roughly 53 percent. Calls up, puts down, outright shares up 12 percent quarter over quarter but still under the December mark.
The Capitalist read. A 13F reports options by the count and quarter-end market value of the underlying. It does not report strike prices. It does not report expirations. Without those two fields, the direction of the position cannot be determined from the filing. A bank can show 1.95 million underlying shares in calls and be net short the move, net flat, or holding nothing of its own at all. The number that reads as conviction is a notional count, and notional is not conviction.
What the filing does not say. UBS is a dealer, a market maker, a private bank, and a discretionary asset manager in the same entity. Any of those four books can produce this line. Client-directed structured product hedging looks identical to proprietary upside exposure on a 13F. The bank spent earlier this year preparing to offer select Swiss private-banking clients access to bitcoin and ether trading; a call book against client demand would be the ordinary explanation, and the ordinary explanation is usually the right one. The filing does not distinguish among them, and neither should the reader.
The line that actually matters. 407,890 shares outright, against 548,614 at year-end 2025. Whatever the options book is doing, the balance-sheet position in the wrapper is smaller than it was eight months ago. That is the fact the 24-fold headline buries. The cap-structure layer is where the story gets told loudly; the share count is where it gets told honestly.
THE 13F CHECKLIST
1) Calls: 80,000 underlying IBIT shares (Mar 31) → 1,950,000 (Jun 30). More than 24x.
2) Puts: 303,300 → 143,300 underlying shares. Down ~53%.
3) Outright IBIT: 364,371 → 407,890 shares, +12% Q/Q, ~$13.6M.
4) Year-end 2025 outright: 548,614 shares. Current position is BELOW it.
5) Not disclosed: strike prices, expirations, net delta, which book.
6) Filed Aug 13. Positions as of Jun 30 — six weeks stale on arrival.
2) Puts: 303,300 → 143,300 underlying shares. Down ~53%.
3) Outright IBIT: 364,371 → 407,890 shares, +12% Q/Q, ~$13.6M.
4) Year-end 2025 outright: 548,614 shares. Current position is BELOW it.
5) Not disclosed: strike prices, expirations, net delta, which book.
6) Filed Aug 13. Positions as of Jun 30 — six weeks stale on arrival.
Notional is not conviction.
Read the share count.
The cap is still twenty-one million.
Read the share count.
The cap is still twenty-one million.
CoinDesk · Aug 15 2026 · UBS Form 13F filed Aug 13, positions as of Jun 30 2026